Overview of NDLM

Making one person in every family digitally literate is one of the integral components of the Prime Minister 's vision of “Digital India”. The Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (DISHA) or National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM) Scheme has been formulated to impart IT training to 52.5 lakh persons, including Anganwadi and ASHA workers and authorised ration dealers in all the States/UTs across the country so that the non-IT literate citizens are trained to become IT literate so as to enable them to actively and effectively participate in the democratic and developmental process and also enhance their livelihood. Altogether 52.5 lakh persons, including Anganwadi and ASHA workers and authorised ration dealers will be trained under the programme in two phases. In the first phase, 10 lakh beneficiaries will be trained under the scheme. Nine lakh beneficiaries will be eligible for training fee support from the government. The rest 100,000 beneficiaries will be trained by the industry and civil society partners.

Appreciation of Digital Literacy

To make a person IT literate, so that he/ she can operate digital devices, like mobile phones, tablets, etc., send and receive emails and search Internet for information, etc.

Eligibility Criteria

Non-IT literate - Illiterate
Age : 14 to 60 years

Course Duration

20 Hours (Minimum 10 Days and Maximum 30 Days

Eligibility Criteria

One person in the age group of 14 to 60 years from every household which is digitally illiterate would become eligible for consideration under the Scheme:
Financial assistance for various categories include:
1.) 75% of course fee for General category trainees (25% of the course fee to be borne by trainees).
2.) 100% of course fee for SC/ ST and BPL category trainees.


Candidate Registration Form
NDLM Banner
NDLM Syllabus

Sector Skill Council